About Us

Directors and Officers of Owen Financial Corporation

Standing:  Michel King, George Allison, James DeCoursey, Gordon Wells and Tom Parker
Seated:  Steve Pedigo, Becky Brown, Tim Vest and Ed Hines


Gordon L. Wells - Chairman of the Board
George L. Allison     Becky L. Brown, CPA
James R. DeCoursey     Charles "Ed" Hines, CPA
  Michel J. King, DDS     Thomas D. Parker, Jr.
Steven K. Pedigo     Robert "Bob" E. Taylor
Timothy L. Vest     


Gordon L. Wells - President
Charles "Ed" Hines, CPA - Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer



Directors, Officers and Managers of Owen County State Bank



Gordon L. Wells - Chairman of the Board
Steven K. Pedigo - Vice Chairman of the Board
George L. Allison     Becky L. Brown, CPA
James R. DeCoursey     Charles "Ed" Hines, CPA
Michel J. King, DDS     Thomas D. Parker, Jr.
Robert "Bob" E. Taylor    Timothy L. Vest

President and CEO

Robert "Bob" E. Taylor

Executive Vice President

Ruth A. Jones

Senior Vice Presidents

Danielle Conner, Loan Operations, Risk Mgmt & CRA    Jerry Hays, Market Executive
Keith A. Knipstein, CFO/Investments    Richard "Rick" A. Krouse, Operations

Vice Presidents

Judith M. Armstrong, Internal Auditor     Sandra J. Bowman, Consumer Lending
Janet L. Burks, Retail Banking Manager     Jerry Cravens, Senior Commercial Lender
Joyce Graham, Cashier     Rhonda Hinds, Senior Commercial Lender
Matthew E. Lantz, Consumer Lending Sales Manager     Donna Murdock, Deposit Services
  Bonnie Patton, Commercial Lending Sales Manager

Assistant Vice Presidents

Christina Baker, Human Resources     Karla Bixler, Bookkeeping
Christopher A. Conner, Commercial Credit Analyst     Michelle DeFord, Executive Secretary
Lisa Knapp, Branch Manager     Sandra McKay, Teller Operations
Matthew Michael, Collections & Security     Richard Morris, eBusiness Manager
Judy Scott, Branch Manager


Joan Barnett, Compliance

Owen County State Bank - A Community Partner

The bank has been an active partner with other community agencies to assess county needs in the areas of housing, health and safety, education and infrastructure improvement with joint programs, donations and discounted loans to address those needs.

Together with the Area 10 Agency on Aging, the bank provided funds to purchase ground, construction loans and a long-term mortgage for a 24-unit low-income elderly housing facility. Along with the Community Action Program, Owen County State Bank financed, at a discount, 12 homes to be renovated for rent or purchase to low-income families.

In addition to financial assistance in housing programs, the bank and its employees have made donations, served on volunteer committees and provided support to other projects including Emergency Rescue, EMS, local schools, utility needs and various civic endeavors and action coalitions.

Owen County State Bank Mission Statement

Our Promise to You

Owen County State Bank, a stable, financially sound organization, makes every effort to meet community and customer needs in a changing economic and financial environment by:

  • Fostering integrity in all our dealings.
  • Maintaining a dedicated and knowledgeable staff.
  • Providing a return to shareholders through profitability.

The History of Owen County State Bank

In 1922, the Citizens Bank of Freedom, Indiana was organized as a private bank. At the end of the twenties, many businesses had gone bankrupt, including several local banks. Citizens weathered the storm and was given the opportunity to expand and become the county seat bank.

On February 4, 1933, the bank opened for business in Spencer. In the same year, the bank was temporarily closed by President Roosevelt's "Bank Holiday". Awarded an "A" rating, the bank reopened as strong as ever.

Also in 1933, Citizens was issued a new charter, reorganizing it from a private to a state bank. With this change, the name Owen County State Bank was adopted.

Later years have brought branch location acquisitions and other additions to Owen County State Bank. The Gosport State Bank was added as a branch in 1945, and a Coal City Branch opened in 1966. The home office building was expanded in 1967, in 1972 a four bay autobank opened, and in 1989 a second autobank with a full-service automatic teller machine (ATM) went into operation on East Morgan Street. In 1991 a new ATM was installed in Babb's Super Valu, and one was added to our Gosport Branch. Construction was completed in 1996 and the Bank relocated the home office from South Montgomery Street to our current location on East Morgan Street. 

In July 2008 we opened our first banking center outside of Owen County, with a full service branch in Monroe County, at King's Crossing east of Ellettsville on Highway 46.  In November of 2014 we expanded our presence with the opening of another full service branch on South Walnut Street just 2 blocks North of the Country Club Drive/Winslow Road intersection.


©2015 Owen County State Bank. Member FDIC. Equal Housing Lender.